January 3, 2005

Record Tracker 2004

WR Joe Horn set broke his own team records for receiving yards and touchdowns and tied himself in two other categories in 2004, one of the greatest single seasons for a receiver in Saints history. Horn collected 1399 receiving yards and finishing six yards shy of Panther WR Muhsin Muhammad for the 2004 league receiving title.

Muhammad entered Week 17 14 yards behind Horn in the race for the most yards and had 95 yards to Horn's 75 during the Saints 21-18 victory in Carolina. Horn (6289) remains 1565 yards behind Eric Martin (7854) in the career receiving yard category, and with 45 career receiving touchdowns trails Martin (48) by only three touchdowns for the career touchdown leader. Horn now owns the four biggest single-season performance marks, and many of the second and third best performances.

In total receptions, Horn owns four of the five best seasons in Saints history (94, 94, 88, 83 while Martin had 85 in 1988). In receiving yardage, Horn owns the top four best seasons in Saints history (1399, 1340, 1312, 1265), and three of the top five seasons in touchdown catches.

QB Aaron Brooks finished 170 yards away from Jim Everett's team record for passing yardage, while RB Deuce McAllister's injury-shortened season prevented him from approaching some of his and George Rogers' season records. McAllister did become the first player to record three straight 1000-yard rushing seasons and already owns the career record for 100-yard rushing games, adding five to his previous total of 17. McAllister's nine rushing touchdowns ties for the third best season total in team history. McAllister's 1074 yards in 2004 vaulted him past Dalton Hilliard in the team's career rushing yardage list, and he sits merely 73 yards behind George Rogers. McAllister's 1302 total yards this season gives him 5456 career yards from scrimmage, second only to Eric Martin (7865) and Dalton Hilliard (6397).

DE Will Smith's seven sacks as a rookie ties DE Charles Grant for the third best sack total by a rookie, behind Darren Howard (11) and Renaldo Turnbull (9).

NOPF News Archive