December 17, 2010

Brees wins AP Male Athlete of the Year

QB Drew Brees adds another honor to his remarkable 2010 calendar season.  His Super Bowl XLIV MVP ended the 2010 football season, but the 2010 award season is wrapping up now.

AP Male Athlete of the Year is the latest prize, next to his SI Sportsman of the Year.

Brees is the first athlete in Louisiana to win the award, though Yankee pitcher Ron Guidry, a Louisiana native, won the award in 1978.

Brees is only the fourth NFL quarterback to win in the award's 79-year history.  Tom Brady won in 2007, and Joe Montana was a two-time winner in 1989 and 1990.  George Blanda won the award in 1970. 

The winner last year, NASCAR champion Jimmie Johnson, was second in AP voting.

NOPF News Archive