December 13, 2010

New Big 10 names league trophies after Brees, Andersen

Saints QB Drew Brees is being honored by the new conference of his alma mater, Purdue, as is former Saint great and future NFL Hall of Famer Morten Andersen.

Beginning in 2011, the new Big 10 (consisting of 12 teams) will award a host of new trophies to its players named after greats in its conference history.

The trophy for Big 10 Quarterback of the Year will be called the Griese-Brees Trophy after Bob Griese and Brees.

Another former Saint will be honored as well - the conference's best kicker trophy will be named the Bakken-Andersen award after Jim Bakken and Morten Andersen, who graduated from Michigan State.

NOPF News Archive