December 28, 2011

Five Saints Named To Pro Bowl, Four More Are Alternates

Three of five offensive linemen, Drew Brees, and Brees' first skill position pro bowler as a Saint will represent the Saints on the NFC Pro Bowl roster.

Brees, a perennial pro bowl pick in the NFC for the fourth straight season, has never had a runningback, tight end or receiver join him on the first-release Pro Bowl team, though Marques Colston has been named an alternate in the past.  That changes this year, as second year superstar Jimmy Graham was named a starter for the team.  Green Bay QB Aaron Rodgers will start for the NFC, joined by Brees and Giants QB Eli Manning.

Additionally, Brees was named the NFC Offensive Player of the Week, an understatement for his performance against the Falcons that broke one of the most vaunted single-season records: Dan Marino's passing yards mark.  It is the 13th Offensive Player of the Week award for Brees, the third this season.  Brees also broke a league record with 12 300-yard passing efforts in a single season during that game.

Second-year TE Jimmy Graham and LT Jermon Bushrod are first time Pro Bowl honorees.

Joining Bushrod on the offensive line are guards Carl Nicks and Jahri Evans.  Graham, Nicks and Evans are all named starters on the NFC squad.

Also named as alternates on the NFC squad are FB Jed Collins, SS Roman Harper, FS Malcolm Jenkins and P Thomas Morstead.

Given injuries, personal choices and the fact that Super Bowl team players do not participate in the Super Bowl, many NFL players will likely be "added" to the NFC roster, including the alternates above.  However, only the "first roster" players are eligible for contract bonuses featuring "Pro Bowl" incentives.

NOPF News Archive